ButtonRUBELayer

General discussion about the R.U.B.E editor
vkreal

ButtonRUBELayer

Post by vkreal »

I ported all RubeLayer related files to c++. In ButtonRUBELayer it have 'selector' and 'sceneClassType' my question can i do something similar in c++? i am pretty new to c++ and googling around didnt find anything.

bi.selector = NSSelectorFromString( [NSString stringWithUTF8String:bi.selectorName.c_str()] );
bi.sceneClassType = NSClassFromString( [NSString stringWithUTF8String:bi.sceneName.c_str()] );

Much Thanks!
iforce2d
Site Admin

Re: ButtonRUBELayer

Post by iforce2d »

I just did the same myself :D
You can find a sample loader for RUBE using cocos2d-X at this page:
http://www.iforce2d.net/rube/?panel=loaders
Setup video here if you're using Xcode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ePTR5lHE4q0

Unfortunately in C++ it's not possible to have a 'Class' type which makes this so easy in ObjC. So I have not implemented the scene switching button feature at all.

However, you can pass around function references in C++, so I have implemented the other button feature (function selectors). The catch is that you need to register all the functions you want to use in the C++ code, so it's still not as flexible as the ObjC method.

The best way to see what I'm talking about is to download the source from the loaders page linked to above, and look at MenuScreenRUBELayer.cpp which is a simple example of extending BasicRUBELayer. The important point is in the constructor, where the string name to be used in RUBE is matched with a function in the class. In that example, I have made the function switch the scene, so even if we can't have the more flexible method of simply setting the class name in RUBE directly, it's not the end of the world.
vkreal

Post by vkreal »